A Brief History of the School

240216_17

Dowdales School opened in 1928, then called Dowdales Central School. It was originally attended by some 240 boys and girls.

The school was chosen as an education establishment for its beautiful grounds which houses a mansion at the top of the tree lined drive. The stone turreted mansion was built as a private residence for the Ashburner family and still bears the Ashburner family crest in stone high up on the main façade.

The school is now attended by over 1000 students and has benefitted from many extensions and adaptations adding further character to the colourful grounds.

It is testament to the school that students and staff, both past and present, are proud to call themselves Dowdalians.

Dowdales School grounds reflect the seasons in a spectacular array of colours from the Autumnal leaves and conkers in October to the spray of pink blossom in April.

Dowdales is an exciting place to be. Come and see the school in action to see and feel the enthusiasm for learning that drives everyone to achieve their best. We look forward to you being part of our continuing success.